notBIG(4) the EXHIBIT


M S Rezny Studio/Gallery is pleased to announce the finals in the national small arts juried competition notBIG(4) The Exhibit.  There was no intended theme for this art competition; the only requirement was that the artwork had to be 12”x12” or smaller, including the frame.  136 artists from 32 states submitted 440 artworks for consideration.  This year’s juror Kurt Gohde, Professor of Art, Transylvania University, Lexington, KY, selected 45 artworks to be in the exhibit.  “The artworks chosen for this exhibition represent a wide range of media, styles, and conceptual approaches to making art. They resonate with presence much larger than their measurements in inches. They challenge a statement we have all heard too many times, a statement more memorable for alliteration than for any connection to reality—bigger may not be better.”


Of his selection for the exhibit Mr. Gohde stated “The sense of wonder I feel when looking at small artworks matches the biological impulse of many adults to coo at infants. Similarly, matchbooks, as collectible objects, compel a viewer to wonder what color the sulphur tips are beneath the thin cardboard cover…I hope this exhibition provides an experience for viewers something like the experience I had looking through the entries—something like discovering a new treasure in each jewelry box from a stack of boxes large enough to fill a small kitchen.”

Gallery of Accepted Artworks

Robert Hunter_Colonial Beach VA
Kevin Schultz_Floyds Knobs IN
Jenny Wu_Alexandria VA
Clint Wood_Cincinnati OH
Sean Ware_Dover NH
Allison Tierney_Pittsboro NC
Lydia Voss_Erlanger KY
Mary Ruth Smith_Waco TX
Alexander Taylor_Louisville KY
Lawrence Tarpey_Lexington KY
Lee Sturtevant_Lexington KY
Karen Spears_Lexington KY
Kate Snyder_Harrodsburg KY
Fran Redmon_Frankfort KY
Candice Rene_Lexingtgon KY
Thomas Pfannerstill_Louisville KY
Irene Mudd_Louisville KY
Carleton Wing_Lexington KY
Aldo Muzzarelli_Mauldin SC
Bernard Park_Marquette MI
Pat O'Brien__Cockeysville MA
Soni Martin_Fayetteville NC
Blase Masini_Evanston IL
Sandra MacDiarmid_San Jose CA
Anne Kindl _Lexington, KY
Trish Korte__Pekin IN
Jana Kappeler_Carlisle KY
Cheryl Kinderknecht_Bradenton FA
Celia Kelly_Louisville KY
Anne Kindl_Lexington KY
Elizabeth Herrmann_St Petersburg FA
Teresa Harris_St Joseph MO
Cissy Hamilton_Lexington KY
Mike Flynn_Manassas VA
Jack Girard_Lexington KY
ReneHales_Lexington KY
Jerold Hale_Charleston SC
Todd Fife_Bowling Green KY
Teri Dryden_Louisville KY
Anna Campomanes_Lexington KY
Mary Clore_Louisville Ky
Andrew Denney_St. Louis MO
Derek Ball_Louisville KY
Critz Campbell_Ms State MS
Rebecca DeGroot_Spring TX
Show More
  • Facebook App Icon